Chocolate Protein Shake

Since I’ve been doing my best to eat healthier, I haven’t been baking or posting many dessert recipes. In fact, I have been on a protein shake rampage the last few months! It was tough to replace an entire meal with just a liquid shake, but my body adjusted and I’ve experimented with a few different protein mixes to figure out what tastes satisfying to me. Here is a recipe for a protein shake that is tasty and easy to prepare. I’ve been making my shakes with chocolate protein powder, but any flavor works well with this recipe!

Chocolate Protein Shake
Chocolate Protein Shake

Ingredients for Chocolate Protein Shake:
1 Tbs chia seeds
1 cup almond milk
2 pitted dates (optional)
2 scoops chocolate protein powder
4 large ice cubes

Make the chia gel: Soak the chia seeds in the almond milk for 5-10 minutes.

Prepare the shake: Combine all the ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.

Makes: one 16 fl oz serving

The great thing about preparing these shakes is that you can adjust the amount and the ingredients however you like. For example, if you don’t mind the flavor, a frozen banana can be added to make a thick and creamy shake. In place of the banana, I used dates as a sweetener along with chia seeds and ice to thicken up the shake. A tablespoon of nut butter may be added as well, but I chose to leave it out to reduce the fat and calories. If you need more ideas on how to make healthy and delicious protein shakes (or smoothies), check out DailyBurn’s #ShowUsYourShake project or visit their protein powder page for various protein-based recipes. What do you like to add to your healthy shakes and smoothies? Comment below and let me know!

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Protein Shake

  1. Yummo Ada! I make one really similar! Sorry for comment spamming- I literally just figured out how to find all my old followers & blogs I follow since moving my blog to self-hosting…. duh! So now I’m making up for lost time and having a midnight stalk sesh for all your posts that I missed 😉

      1. Nope it’s not but there are some other smoothies I made on there- slowly in the process of getting it sorted and getting them all up though!

Leave a Reply

