Avocado Banana Bread

After a few busy weeks of moving into my condo (hence the lack of posts lately), I finally baked something in my kitchen–Avocado Banana Bread! Well, to be honest, the first thing I baked was almond meringue crinkles, aka failed macarons. Macarons are probably not the best thing to make when testing out a new oven!

I’m still pretty busy these days with some home renovations, but I will try my best to make some good dishes to post about! In the meantime, please check out the new Facebook page I created for this blog. My page will not only contain links to my blog posts, but will also include other food related posts!

The Avocado Banana Bread is easy to make and tastes sweet, moist, and fragrant. I always take a slice to work for breakfast. It’s fairly healthy and actually keeps me full throughout the morning!

Ingredients:
2 large avocados
2 large bananas
1 egg
1/3 cup honey
3 Tbs olive oil
3 Tbs milk
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup wheat germ

Mash the soft ingredients: Purée the avocados and bananas in a food processor until smooth and creamy.

Mix the wet ingredients: Add the egg, honey, olive oil, and milk to the food processor. Pulse until the ingredients are evenly distributed.

Mix the dry ingredients: In a large bowl, mix together the whole wheat flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and wheat germ. Fold the avocado-banana mixture into the dry ingredients.

Bake the bread: Pour the mixture into a greased loaf pan. Bake at 350°F for 60 minutes, or until the center comes out clean with a toothpick. Allow the bread to cool for at least 10 minutes before serving. Store the bread in an air-tight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

I love the fragrant scent of the bread as it’s baking in the oven! Nothing smells better than fresh-baked bread!

63 thoughts on “Avocado Banana Bread

  1. I have never had avocado banana bread before! Does the avocado make it taste saltier? I will definitely have to try this some time….especially if I buy bananas and avocados when they come in huge packs. :p Hehe… it looks good, but that green… reminds me of pistachio ice cream! Haha.

    1. You have to try it! The avocado doesn’t make it saltier; it’s basically being used in place of butter. I initially started making avocado banana bread because I had to use up avocados and bananas, but now I just make it because I like it! Haha it doesn’t actually look that green, it’s cause of the flash on my camera phone. I still need to work on my photo taking skills lol.

  2. bizarre! But I’ll be trying it as I’m in your position: need to use up bananas (again) and avocados. Thanks for a fun recipe. Love it when they’re out-of-the-box like this one.

  3. tender,spongy and gorgeously green loaf…..love love love the use of mashed avocados in baked goodies…makes them so buttery rich and healthy….this loaf looks beautiful,thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. This is unique and new to me. I never knew I could make a cake using avocado. What does it taste like? I’m really eager to taste!!! Thanks for sharing!

    1. You can taste the avocados, but the banana flavor is more dominant. I definitely prefer this over regular banana bread because it’s still delicious, not overly sweet, and much healthier! Hope you get to try it soon!

  5. I guess i won’t use any butter in banana bread eversince i had avocado….
    it taste heavently,
    btw, i used to discard the very green part of the avocado and use the yellowish part since the green things will make a bitter aftertaste….

    1. Avocado really is a good substitute for the butter in banana bread! 😀
      That’s a good idea, I will keep that in mind next time I make the bread. I never thought about it, but I haven’t tasted anything bitter yet. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Who knew avocado can be used in a banana bread! I can imagine what a luxurious hue and buttery texture and tropical scent your bread would get!
    Thanks a bunch for the recipe that I’ve never thought of. Lovely, warm pictures, as well 🙂

    1. Thanks Diane! It’s not a common banana bread, but it’s so tasty and healthier too!
      Renovating a home is exciting–I love my new kitchen sink! But at the same time, it can get stressful. Still working out plans for putting in hardwood floors–it’ll be a tough week moving a bunch of furniture and items around. Hope your renovations are going smoothly!

    1. I didn’t start baking with avocado until earlier this year, and I am really loving it! Who knew avocado can be used in so many different dishes. Meringue crinkles are definitely easier to make–tasty and stress-free! 😀

  7. OMG! Never in my wildest dreams have I heard or seen an avocado banana bread. To begin with, I LOVE banana bread and second, I LOVE avocado. So this recipe is a dream come true! Thanks for this post!!!

    1. Sorry to hear that! I wouldn’t recommend baking with just avocado, because avocado naturally turns bitter when baked–the bananas will add a nice aroma and should help make it taste less bitter. My version of avocado banana bread is barely sweet, and I’ve never made one that tasted bitter either. Hope you have better success next time!

Leave a Reply

