Avocado Deviled Eggs

After writing about my Avocado Banana Bread, I was inspired to continue making more dishes with avocado! This time, I made deviled eggs by replacing the mayonnaise with avocado. These deviled eggs are tasty, creamy, and healthier than classic deviled eggs!

Ingredients:
8 eggs
1 small avocado
2 Tbs white vinegar
1 Tbs Dijon mustard
1 Tbs chili paste
1 Tbs sweet relish
2 tsp onion powder
salt and pepper, to taste
paprika, to garnish

Hard-boil the eggs: Gently place the eggs in a large saucepan. Fill the saucepan with water, about 1″ above the eggs. Bring the water to a boil over medium heat, then turn off the heat. Cover the saucepan and let the eggs sit for 12 minutes. Rinse the eggs under cold water to stop the cooking.

Prepare the eggs: Peel the eggs, then slice each egg in half lengthwise. Gently remove the egg yolks and place them in the food processor.

Make the filling: Add the avocado, vinegar, mustard, chili paste, sweet relish, and onion powder to the egg yolks. Process the mixture until smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste; pulse a few times to distribute.

Fill the eggs: Spoon or pipe equal amounts of the filling into each egg white. Sprinkle with paprika.

The taste of the avocado is slightly there, but the sweet and tangy flavors are dominant, followed by a spicy kick from the chili paste. I prefer this version over classic deviled eggs!

63 thoughts on “Avocado Deviled Eggs

  1. your post made me so happy! Have been waiting for these eggs after seeing them on your facebook. Don’t you think they’d go so well with a spot of crabapple liqueur? πŸ˜‰

    For sure will be making these.

    1. They sure would go well with some crabapple liqueur! If only I had some to try it out πŸ˜‰
      You may go heavier or lighter on some of the ingredients for the filling depending on your taste. Please let me know how your eggs turn out! πŸ˜€

  2. The eggs sound so delicious, with avocado, sweet relish, mustard and a kick of chilli paste. I am getting ready for dinner, this would have been nice on the side. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Ada, yes – these are an inspired tribute to your lovely avocado banana bread!

    https://morefoodpls.wordpress.com/2013/09/28/avocado-banana-bread/

    Your spices – especially the use of spicy chile paste and sweet, chopped cornichon – are such a lovely balance to the creamy, mild avocado fruit. I sometimes make guacamole (turkey) bacon deviled eggs. We seem to enjoy the same flavors and types of foods.

    The piping of the eggs is gorgeous – as is the traditional paprika sprinkle at the end (so retro, chica! Love it!). Do tell me – what piping bag and tip do you use?

    Side-note: of course you cooked your eggs perfectly.

    Side-note #2: this would be excellent hang-over food! πŸ˜‰

    Nice work!

    1. Your deviled eggs sound so delicious! Do you have a post of it on your blog?? If not, I hope you post your recipe soon! Would love to try it πŸ˜€

      I was lazy and just used a ziplock bag with the corner cut off lol–less cleaning to do afterwards (I do use an Ateco 18″ piping bag though)! As for the tip, I used Ateco #825. Honestly it was my first piping the filling with this tip, so I didn’t know what to expect–I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it turned out!

      Thank you for stopping by, Shanna! I always enjoy reading your lovely comments πŸ™‚

      1. Ada, the devilled eggs looked AWESOME. I can’t believe you only used a ziplock bag! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the piping bag info… my old bag broke and I am not sure exactly what to buy when it comes to anything crafty. Your information helps. πŸ™‚

        I always sort of wing it with the guacamole devilled eggs – keeping the flavors of guacamole in mind (avocado, red onion, garlic, cilantro, lime) – then use crispy turkey bacon and Greek yogurt, as well. Your recipe looks so flavorful and international – and not too hard to make. It’s a keeper!

      2. Thanks Shanna! Ziplock bags sure do come in handy in various ways πŸ˜€ Glad to have helped–my set of Ateco tips are all working well so far!

        I will have to try making the guacamole deviled eggs soon! I like the addition of Greek yogurt, and of course the turkey bacon πŸ˜€

      3. Hi, Ada.

        Ateco tips – check! Committed to memory. πŸ™‚

        Oh, I adore using Greek yogurt in place of half – or even all – mayonnaise in a lot of dishes. It is so tasty – zingy, creamy and thick.

        Loving your blog, as always.

  4. Ooh I love that idea. I love curried egg sandwiches (which is basically the same as devilled eggs filling, just not pureed). I haven’t found a way to make it without mayo or butter, which is why I don’t make it very often. Avo could be the solution!

    1. When I first started testing out this recipe, I only used 6 eggs instead of 8, so I had quite a bit of filling left over and used it as a sandwich spread! I think avocado will be a good replacement for mayo or butter in your curried egg sandwiches πŸ˜€ Please let me know what you think if you try it out!

  5. Creamy, swirling, soothing, sensuous avocado deviled eggs πŸ™‚ So lovely to look at. I won’t mind snacking on it every evening for the rest of my life.
    Cute shots indeed πŸ™‚

      1. Me too! I love deviled eggs so much! I’ll eat too many of them at a pot luck….sort of “hog” them! πŸ™‚ I’ll seriously have to make them with avocado. Thank you for the idea.

Leave a Reply

