Homemade Granola Bars

I normally have no time to make myself a filling breakfast before going to work. My typical weekday breakfast consists of a piece of fruit and a Nature Valley granola bar. At some point, I realized, “Why not make my own granola bars that are healthier and probably tastier than the store-bought ones?” With that in mind, I set off to make granola bars based off a trusty Alton Brown recipe.

Homemade Granola Bars

Ingredients:
8 oz (about 2 cups) old-fashioned rolled oats
11/2 cups unsalted mixed nuts (such as almonds, cashews, pistachios, and pecans), chopped
6 oz (about 1/2 cup) honey
13/4 oz (about 1/4 cup) dark brown sugar
1 oz (about 2 Tbs) unsalted butter
11/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
11/2 oz (about 1/2 cup) wheat germ
2 oz (about 1/2 cup) dried cranberries
3 oz (about 1/2 cup) pitted dates, chopped
3 oz (about 1/2 cup) dried apricots, chopped

Toast the oats and nuts: Preheat oven to 350°F. Spread the oats and chopped nuts on a baking sheet and bake for 13-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until light golden brown. Remove the sheet the from oven, then reduce oven temperature to 300°F.

Prepare the binder: Combine the honey, brown sugar, butter, vanilla extract, and salt in a small saucepan. Stir over medium heat, until the mixture just begins to boil.

Mix the ingredients: Toss the toasted oats and nuts, binding mixture, wheat germ, and dried fruit in a large bowl. Stir well to combine.

Bake the granola mixture: Line a 9×13-inch baking pan with foil-parchment paper (parchment side up), then pour the mixture into the pan. Dip fingers in water, then use fingers to evenly distribute and pack down the granola mixture. Bake at 300°F for 25 minutes.

Cut granola into bars: Allow mixture to cool completely to harden (at least a couple hours). Lift granola out of the pan by the sides of the foil-parchment paper. Cut the granola into 16 equally sized bars.

The granola bars were easy to make and came out delicious. The ratio of fruits and nuts to the oats was perfect. I will never have to buy granola bars from the store again!

30 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. this looks great–I’ve tried a few homemade granola recipes because–like you–I don’t want to keep paying for storebought and homemade can always taste better. But, haven’t found THE recipe yet. Yours looks promising 🙂 Am excited to try.

      1. More than a month has passed and I finally got these made! Thanks for the tips on the not skimping on the binder, etc. Have wrapped them individually (what was left after I ate 1/3 of the pan already 0-: Took a body pump class and went running this morn, so they went down easy!) for camping. Photo is up on facebook. Thanks for a great recipe. I like A LOT.

      2. So glad you like them! I actually just ate some of mine this morning (did not work out today, and just found out I’m going to a buffet tonight…I’m ashamed haha). Thanks so much for the mention on fb! 😀

  2. Bookmarking this! I made some granola bars some time back with apple sauce as a binder. While I loved it, my husband refused to eat them as they were not crisp and crunchy. Will give these a try.
    R

  3. I love that they nut-fruit-ratio is perfect. These will be great for the kids. Definitely bookmarking this recipe. I am so impressed that you make your own granola bars! Have you tried adding in a nut butter in place of the butter and maybe some dark chocolate? It could be a nice change of pace. Thanks for sharing! Noms!

    1. I’ve been sticking to this recipe, but using nut butter sounds like a fabulous idea! I will most likely make another batch this weekend (need some healthy snacks at work during the week), so I’ll try out a nut butter instead of butter. Thanks for the suggestion! As for dark chocolate–yes! Definitely a nice change of pace 😀

Leave a comment