Green Detox Smoothie

Now that my wedding has passed, I hope to get back to baking more delicious treats! But before I do, I’d like to share a simple recipe that I stuck to during the last few months of my wedding diet–a smoothie filled with healthy greens and fruits. I essentially replaced my daily breakfast and/or lunch with a large smoothie. Doing this not only aided in weight loss, but also helped detoxify my body.

Green Detox Smoothie
Green Detox Smoothie

Coincidentally, I recently found out about a #DetoxYourLife campaign started by Oscar Health Insurance. They are a new health insurance company committed to providing their members with an easy, stress-free experience with their technology based resources. They currently offer health insurance plans in New Jersey and New York. If you are looking for an easy way to cleanse your body, try starting off with a delicious green smoothie!

Ingredients for Green Detox Smoothie:
2 cups packed greens (kale, chard, and/or spinach)
1 cup strawberries
1 cup red grapes
1/2 large banana, frozen
1 Tbs chia seeds
3/4 cup almond milk

Prepare the shake: Combine all the ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.

Makes: one 24 fl oz serving

The great thing about smoothies is that the amount and types of ingredients can always be adjusted. I often just add whatever fruits I have in my refrigerator at the time. I particularly like to add a few figs to my smoothie, which really helps sweeten up the drink! When I am not in a rush, I also like to juice grapefruits and use it in place of almond milk.

Even though my wedding diet has ended, I still prefer to have a large glass of green smoothie for breakfast everyday! It actually fills me up, makes me feel healthier, and helps start off the day right. What are your favorite recipes for detoxing? Comment below and let me know!

4 thoughts on “Green Detox Smoothie

  1. I love almond milk. I am trying to stick to a high protein diet because otherwise I don’t have enough energy for the workouts I do each day, and part of that is really looking forward to my glass of almond milk when I come home! It seems to fill me up more than cow’s milk, while being less heavy.

Leave a Reply

