Turkey & Shrimp Shumai (燒賣)

One of my favorite brunches is dim sum! Whenever I go out for dim sum, I always order turnip cake, shumai/shaomai (燒賣), rice porridge/congee, and various types of dumplings filled with shrimp. Unfortunately, I have to drive far to eat good quality dim sum at an affordable price–it would be fantastic if I could create an array of dim sum dishes from my very own kitchen! I have already come up with a simple and delicious recipe for rice porridge. Just recently, I created my own version of shumai using ground turkey.

Turkey & Shrimp Shumai

Ingredients:
1 lb ground turkey
1/2 lb shrimp, diced
1 stalk green onion, diced
3 Tbs cilantro, diced
2 Tbs ginger, finely minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 large egg
2 Tbs soy sauce
1 Tbs rice vinegar
1 Tbs sesame oil
1 Tbs corn starch
2 tsp salt
1 Tbs ground pepper
1 package shumai wrappers

Create the filling: Excluding the shumai wrappers, thoroughly mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.

Fill the wrappers: Place approximately 1 Tbs of the filling in the center of a shumai wrapper. Wet the edges of the shumai wrapper, then gather them up to form a pleated cup, leaving the top of the filling exposed. Continue wrapping the filling in shumai wrappers until all the filling is used up.

Steam the shumai: Line a bamboo steamer with cabbage leaves or parchment paper, then fill with a layer of shumai. Place the bamboo steamer over a pot of simmering water, and cook for approximately 10 minutes. Serve with favorite dipping sauce.

Makes: 50 pieces

I love how easy this is to prepare! The ground turkey can, of course, be substituted with pork or some other type of meat. I like to use turkey since it is slightly healthier, and I feel less guilty about eating so many!

42 thoughts on “Turkey & Shrimp Shumai (燒賣)

  1. Ada, I love this dim sum recipe. It’s so healthy and full of awesome flavors. 🙂 We don’t have dim sum here, so I will have to get my hands on these special wrappers and a steamer. So cool that you add the cabbage leaves to the basket… 🙂 Cheers!

    1. Thank you, Shanna! The cabbage leaves are super helpful–they prevent the shumai from sticking to the steamer! That’s too bad how you don’t have dim sum in your area! But you’re a pro, you can make an entire dim sum spread yourself 😉 Hope you get to make shumai or some other dim sum dish soon!

    1. Thank you! I definitely enjoy the regular shumai with pork, but I figured it’s best to mix it up and keep it a bit healthier 🙂
      Thanks for reminding me about your link up party! I will update my post and submit it for this month 😀

  2. This looks so good! I was just going to read a couple of blogs before bed time and now I wish I had some dumplings and congee! 🙂 I love the use of Turkey mince, it looks healthy and delicious!

  3. They look really good and I imagine are at least as good as restaurant ones – sometimes I am a bit dubious about the quality of meat they use in restaurants. I too love dim sum and miss not living near a big Chinese centre where I can easily get it.

    1. Thank you, Liz! I’ve been quite busy this year (job hunting, wedding planning, and also a bit of non-profit work), but things are starting to die down a bit. Hoping I can get back to blogging on a regular basis! Thanks for stopping by! 😀

    1. You don’t necessarily need to use a bamboo steamer, but definitely something that allows you to cook the food in steam without touching the water. One thing you can do is find a plate that’s smaller than the pot/pan you’re using, and try to elevate the plate inside the pot–maybe using balls of aluminum foil? Then fill up the pot with water below the level of the plate. Hope I explained it clearly! Would love to hear how it turns out for you!

      1. Made these last night, only a dozen to try the recipe out. Soooooo good! Since I don’t have a bamboo steamer I put a colander over a pot of water, put a small plate inside, covered with a lid. That worked ok, but not great. They tasted amazing! But didn’t look too pretty. My husband loved them and ate most of them. I will definitely make these again. Yum!

Leave a Reply

