Pumpkin Cheesecake

There are many reasons why I love the fall season, one of which is pumpkin! I love how pumpkin can be used in so many dishes–desserts, pastas, soups, and even a variety of drinks! I chose pumpkin cheesecake (based off of Paula Deen’s recipe) as my first pumpkin dish this season.

Ingredients for Crust:
13/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
3 Tbs light brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
5 Tbs unsalted butter, melted

Prepare the crust: Preheat the oven to 350°F. Combine all ingredients for the crust. Spread the mixture evenly along the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan. Using the flat bottom of a cup, firmly press down the mixture. Bake at 350°F for 10 minutes, then set aside to cool.

Ingredients for Filling:
3 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, at room temperature
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree
3 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
1/4 cup sour cream
11/2 cups sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
2 Tbs all-purpose flour
1 tsp vanilla extract

Prepare the filling: Beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the pumpkin puree, eggs, egg yolk, sour cream, sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves. Beat to evenly distribute the ingredients. Add the flour and vanilla extract, then beat until well-combined.

Prepare the cheesecake: Place a pan half-filled with hot water on the rack directly beneath the rack for the cheesecake. Pour the filling over the crust, spreading it out evenly.

Bake the cheesecake: Bake the cheesecake at 350°F for 60 minutes (do not open the oven door at any time). Turn off the oven, leaving the cheesecake (and the pan of water) to sit in the oven for another 60 minutes.

Set the cheesecake: Run a knife along the sides of the pan to loosen the cheesecake. Cover the cheesecake with plastic wrap, and chill in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours.

Ingredients for Topping:
1 cup sour cream
2 Tbs + 11/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Prepare the topping: Whisk together all ingredients for the topping. Spread the topping evenly over the top of the cheesecake. Remove sides of the springform pan, and serve!

This was my first time making a pumpkin cheesecake, so I wasn’t sure of how it would turn out. Thankfully, it was a huge hit! Even my boyfriend loved the cheesecake–he normally doesn’t like to eat anything with pumpkin (terribly sad, I know)! I plan on making this again for some upcoming holiday parties. What pumpkin desserts or dishes do you plan on making this season?

65 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cheesecake

  1. Liking the new look here! Am so glad you finally put the cheesecake on your blog. You’d been teasing me with the facebook mentions 😉 This looks divine. Love cheesecake, but so rarely make it. Definitely party food.

    I have a recipe for pumpkin sourdough bread (not holiday and not sweet, I know) that I’ve been meaning to make for months. Must get to it!

    Also, tried a pumpkin toddy a few weeks ago and it was nasty. Too much texture, lol. Maybe if is was blended or pureed first?

    1. Thanks Liz! Haha sorry it takes me awhile to put up my blog posts. I actually don’t make cheesecake very often (even though I love it), and I’m not sure why! Guess there are just so many things out there to make!

      The pumpkin sourdough bread sounds very interesting! Hope you can make it soon–I’d love to hear how it turns out!

      That’s unfortunate the pumpkin toddy tasted nasty! Maybe you could work on your own version with the right texture 😉

  2. Oh. Never had pumpkin cheesecake before. The sour cream topping reminds me of red velvet cupcakes, but alas… I am sure the pumpkin cheesecake and red velvet cakes are delish!

    1. I love how simple this recipe is as well! What makes it even better is how people are impressed by it 🙂 Hope you get to try out the recipe soon–if you do, please let me know how it turns out! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

