Red Bean Pastry (紅豆餅)

Growing up, I learned several things from my mom, one of them (although less important) being how to make Red Bean Pastry–red bean paste wrapped inside a light, flaky pastry. It is a simple recipe, and always turns out delicious.

Red Bean Pastry

My Mom’s Red Bean Pastry is made with the following ingredients:
2 sticks butter
8 oz cream cheese
2 cups flour
1 can red bean paste
1 egg yolk
black sesame seeds (optional)

To be more adventurous, I started making my own red bean paste. As for the pastry dough, I use unsalted butter and add a pinch of salt. I also use low-fat cream cheese (just to feel less guilty about what I’m eating).

Make the dough: Mix butter, salt, cream cheese, and flour just enough to hold together and form a dough. Shape the dough into 1.5″ balls, then flatten out into discs (about 1/4″ thick).

Fill the dough with red bean: Place a spoonful of red bean paste at the center of each disc. Fold up the edges and pinch to seal. Form a round ball, then press down to slightly flatten it.

Bake the pastries: Preheat oven to 350°F. Beat egg yolk and spread a thin layer on top of pastry; sprinkle with sesame seeds. Bake for 25 minutes on a baking sheet.

Makes: 25

I served this to people who like sweet red beans as well as those who have never tried them before, and they all liked it!

15 thoughts on “Red Bean Pastry (紅豆餅)

  1. Wow, this looks really, REALLY good! And professional!!

    I want some. Next time you make it, make sure I am there to try it. I will definitely try this one day.

    1. There’s such a huge variety of Asian food–while I’ve had many dishes, I still discover new ones every now and then. This is one of my favorite Asian treats to eat growing up, and I still love it to this day. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

    1. Thanks Shanna! When I was younger, I would help my mom make Red Bean Pastries. It wasn’t until a few years ago when I finally asked her for the recipe to make these on my own. They are so delicious, I hope you will like them!

Leave a Reply

