Red Bean Paste

Red bean paste is used in a variety of Asian desserts, such as red bean pastry. The paste is easy to make and only requires a few ingredients.

Ingredients:
1 package red beans
water
pinch of salt
granulated sugar

Prep the red beans: Rinse red beans, then soak in water overnight (this helps soften the beans and shorten the cooking time).

Cook the beans: Place red beans in a pot with fresh water, about 1 inch above the beans. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to simmer for about an hour, or until beans are tender and easily smashed by the back of a spoon.

Purée the beans: Drain red beans, then return them to the pot. Using an immersion blender (or any type of blender), process until the beans are smooth.

Sweeten the paste: Stir in salt and sugar over medium-low heat. Remove from heat when red bean paste is thick and glossy.

Although I usually prefer to use precise measurements, I make my red bean paste by taste. I ended up adding under 2 cups of sugar to my initial 450g of dry red beans. The paste can be stored in an air-tight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

13 thoughts on “Red Bean Paste

    1. If you use the same amount of red beans as I did (450g dry red beans), it will yield approximately 2 cans of red bean paste–basically, a lot of servings!

      The serving suggestion would depend on what you’re making. In general, when red bean paste is used as a filling, I would suggest 1-2 tablespoons per serving. If you use all the red bean paste to make Red Bean Pastries, you would make about 50 pastries.

  1. I didn’t realise you could make these at home. They look just like in the shop. Problem here in the UK countryside is getting ingredients, but red beans will keep no problem. Must try these some time.

    1. I used to buy canned red bean paste, but decided to start making my own and it’s so much better! It’s easy to tailor the taste and sweetness of the paste to your liking. Please let me know how yours turn out if you make it! 😀

      1. I will ask my mum to buy me some red beans next time she goes to the supermarket. She will wonder what has happened to me!

        I tried to make lotus seed paste a long time ago but they wouldn’t mush down 😦 Were too hard even after hours of boiling. It’s a shame because I love lotus seed paste.

Leave a Reply

